Six state schools moving to integrate into two new universities

The plan to merge six of Pennsylvania’s 14 state-owned universities was unanimously approved in July by the State System of Higher Education’s governing board.

Bloomsburg, Mansfield and Lock Haven universities in northern Pennsylvania will form one institution; California, Clarion and Edinboro universities in western Pennsylvania the other.

The change will be phased in, with the first students assessing into the new universities in August 2022.

The action is part of a multi-year system redesign effort to improve student success and institutional financial viability.

Dan Greenstein, D.Phil., Chancellor of Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education, joins Smart Talk Monday to layout the plan’s details and challenges.